Click here to return to the Jersey City: Past and Present Home Page Click here to return to the list of website time periods. Click here to return to the alphabetized list of website entries.

Mayors of Jersey City List


Dudley S. Gregory
First Mayor of Jersey City(1838-1840)
Courtesy, Jersey City Free Public Library

Frank Hague
Longest Serving Mayor of Jersey City (1917-1947)
Photo: M. Aaronson from City Hall Archives
Courtesy, RF Smith



Dudley S. Gregory (April 1838-April 1840)

Peter McMartin (April 1840-April 1841)

Dudley S. Gregory ( April 1841-April 1842)

Thomas A. Alexander (April 1842-April 1843)

Peter Bentley (April 1843-April 1844)

Phineas C. Dummer (April 1844-April 20,1848)

Henry C. Taylor (April 21,1848-April 18,1850)

Robert Gilchrist (April 19,1850-May 2,1852)

David S. Manners (May 3,1852-May 3,1857)

Samuel Wescott (May 4, 1857-May 2,1858)

Dudley S. Gregory (May 3,1858-May 6,1860)

Cornelius Van Vorst (May 7,1860-May 4,1862)

John R. Romar (May 5,1862-May 1,1864)

Orestes Cleveland (May 2,1864-May 5,1867)

James Gopsill (May 6,1867-May 3,1868)

Charles H. O’Neill (May 4,1868-April 10,1869)

William Clarke (April 11,1869-May1,1870)

Charles H. O’Neill (May 2,1870-May 3,1874)

Henry Traphagen (May 4,1874-April 30,1876)

Charles Siedler (May 1,1876-May 5,1878)

Henry J. Hopper (May 6,1878-May 2,1880)

Issac W. Taussig (May 3,1880-May 4,1884)

Gilbert Collins (May 5,1884-May 2,1886)

Orestes Cleveland (May 3,1886-May 1,1892)

Peter F. Wanser (May 2,1892-May 2,1897)


Edward Hoos (May 3,1897-Dec. 31,1901)

Mark M. Fagan (Jan.1, 1902-Dec.31,1907)

H. Otto Wittpenn (Jan.1,1908-June 16,1913)

Mark M. Fagan (June 17, 1913-May 14,1917)

Frank Hague (May 15,1917-June 17,1947) (Retired)

Frank H. Eggers (June 17,1947-May 16,1949)

John V. Kenny (May 17,1949-Dec.15,1953)

Bernard J. Berry (Dec.15,1953-May 20,1957)

Charles S. Witkowski (May 21,1957-June 30,1961)

Thomas Gangemi (July 1,1961-Sept.25,1963) (Resigned)

Thomas Whelan (Nov.15,1963-July 6,1971) (Removed)

Charles K. Krieger (Aug. 5,1971-Nov.8,1971) (Interim)

Paul T. Jordan, M.D. (Nov.9,1971-June 30,1977)

Thomas F.X. Smith (July 1,1977-June 30,1981)

Gerald McCann (July1,1981-June 30,1985)

Anthony R. Cucci (July 1,1985-June 30,1989)

Gerald McCann July1,1989-Feb.13,1992 (Removed)

Marilyn Roman (Feb.14,1992-June 30,1992) (Interim)

Joseph Rakowski (July 1,1992- Nov. 1,1992) (Interim)

Bret Schundler (Nov.2, 1992-June 30,1993)

Bret Schundler (July 1,1993- June 30, 2001)

Glenn D. Cunningham (July 1,2001- May 25,2004)

L.Harvey Smith (May 25,2004-Nov.1,2004)

Jerramiah T. Healy (Nov.2, 2004-June 30,2013)

Steven Fulop (July 1,2013-present)

By: Carmela Karnoutsos
Project Administrator: Patrick Shalhoub