Reported COVID-19 Cases and Vaccination Dashboard

COVID-19 Dashboard

The information below outlines confirmed cases of COVID-19 within the New Jersey City University community. These numbers include students and faculty/staff who study and/or work on campus. The data reflects the test results reported to the NJCU Department of Public Safety. Due to federal patient- and student-confidentiality regulations, we cannot provide more details about the affected individuals.

This page will be updated weekly and more often, if necessary. For more information about testing and contact tracing protocols, please visit our Return to Campus section of this website.

COVID-19 Case Report as of September 17, 2021

To date, there have been 262 positive cases within the NJCU community. Overall, 100 faculty/staff members have tested positive. There have been 162 cases among students 141 among commuters.

There have been five (5) new cases reported during the week of September 11-17, 2021.

To date, there have been 21 cases in NJCU's three residence halls within the 2-14 day incubation period outlined by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. There have been zero (0) new cases among NJCU's residential students in this reporting period.


NJCU Vaccination Rates (as of September 13, 2021)

NJCU’s highest priority is a safe return to a vibrant in-person learning environment during our Fall 2021 semester and beyond. Vaccination against COVID-19 is the best way to achieve this and the goal of achieving herd-immunity for the NJCU community. The university continues to partner to bring access to COVID-19 vaccines to the campus for easy access for the NJCU community and the FDA approved Pfizer vaccines, along with Moderna, and Johnson & Johnson are offered on campus. Students will need their first vaccination by September 17, unless they qualify for an exemption. We have made great progress on vaccinations among faculty, staff and students. The following data represents our most recently available vaccinated rates on campus:

Students

Students (in-person classes)

Vaccination Status Number Percentage
Vaccinated 4,430 82%
Exemption Requested  102 2%
Not Reported 62  < 1%
Total Students 6,958 ---

Students (residential)

Vaccination Status Number Percentage
Vaccinated 395 88%
Exemption Requested  14 3%
Not Reported 0 0%
Total Students 447 ---

Employees

Employees by Classification
Vaccination
Status
AFT CWA IFPTE AFSME Managers Total
Employees
Vaccinated 759 (82%) 182 (82%) 68 (71%) 2 (100%) 107 (93%) 1,118
Exemption Requested  N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Not Reported 2
(<1%)
1
(<1%)
2
(2%)
0
(0%)
0
(0%)
5
Classification Totals 931
(68%)
223
(16%)
96
(7%)
2
(<1%)
115
(8%)
1,367

 


NJCU COVID Report Weekly Update (as of 09/17/2021)

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
Prior to November 14 7 5
Week of Nov. 14-20, 2020 8 11
Week of Nov. 21-27, 2020 4 5
Week of Nov. 28-Dec. 4, 2020 11

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
Week of Nov. 28-Dec. 4, 2020 11 15
Week of Dec. 5-11, 2020 8 13
Week of Dec. 12-18, 2020 7 13
Week of Dec. 26, 2020- Jan. 3, 2021 4 4

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
Week of Dec. 26, 2020- Jan. 3, 2021 4 4
Week of Jan. 4-8, 2021 1 3
Week of Jan. 9-15, 2021 9 5
Week of Jan. 16-22, 2021 7 6
Week of Jan. 23-29, 2021 6 7
Week of Jan. 30-Feb. 5, 2021 0 2

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
Week of Jan. 30-Feb. 5, 2021 0 2
Feb. 6-12, 2021 0 6
Feb. 13-19, 2021 1 6
Feb. 20-26, 2021 2 5
Feb. 27-March 5, 2021 3 4

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
Feb. 27-March 5, 2021 3 4
March 6-12, 2021 2 6
March 13-19, 2021 3 8
March 20-26, 2021 2 4
March 27-April 2, 2021 1 2

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
March 27-April 2, 2021 1 2
April 3-9, 2021 1 8
April 10-16, 2021 2 3
April 17-23, 2021 3 4
April 24-30, 2021 1 1

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
May 1-7, 2021 0 1
May 8-14, 2021 1 3
May 15-21, 2021 0 0
May 22-28, 2021 0 1
May 29-June 4, 2021 0 0

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
June 5-11, 2021 0 0
June 12-18, 2021 0 0
June 19-25, 2021 0 0
June 26-July 2, 2021 0 1

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
July 3-9, 2021 0 0
July 10-16, 2021 0 0
July 17-23, 2021 0 0
July 24-30, 2021 0 0

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
July 31-August 6, 2021 1 0
August 7-13, 2021 1 0
August 14-20, 2021 2 0
August 21-27, 2021 0 0
August 28-September 3, 2021 0 3

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Time Period Reported Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
September 4-10, 2021 0 4
September 11-17, 2021 2 3
September 18-24, 2021    
September 25-31, 2021    

Note: This table is based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

NJCU COVID Report Daily Update (as of 09/17/2021)

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Mon. February 15, 2021 1 1 (1/0)
Tues. February 16, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Wed. February 17, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Thurs. February 18, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Fri. February 19, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. February 20, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. February 21, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. February 22, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Tues. February 23, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. February 24, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Thurs. February 25, 2021 0 3 (0/3)
Fri. February 26, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Sat. February 27, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Sun. February 28, 2021 0 0 (0/0)

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Mon. March 1, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Tues. March 2, 2021 1 2 (1/1)
Wed. March 3, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. March 4, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Fri. March 5, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Sat. March 6, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Sun. March 7, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. March 8, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. March 9, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Wed. March 10, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Thurs. March 11, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. March 12, 2021 1 2 (1/1)
Sat. March 13, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Sun. March 14, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. March 15, 2021 0 1 (1/0)
Tues. March 16, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Wed. March 17, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Thurs. March 18, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Fri. March 19, 2021 0 4 (3/1)
Sat. March 20, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. March 21, 2021 0 1 (1/0)
Mon. March 22, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. March 23, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. March 24, 2021 2 2 (0/2)
Thurs. March 25, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Fri. March 26, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. March 27, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Sun. March 28, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. March 29, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. March 30, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. March 31, 2021 0 1 (1/0)

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Thurs. April 1, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. April 2, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Sat. April 3, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. April 4, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Mon. April 5, 2021 0 3 (0/3)
Tues. April 6, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Wed. April 7, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Thurs. April 8, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Fri. April 9, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. April 10, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. April 11, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. April 12, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. April 13, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Wed. April 14, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. April 15, 2021 2 1 (0/1)
Fri. April 16, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. April 17, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. April 18, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. April 19, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Tues. April 20, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Wed. April 21, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. April 22, 2021 2 1 (0/1)
Fri. April 23, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. April 24, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. April 25, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. April 26, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. April 27, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. April 28, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Thurs. April 29, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. April 30, 2021 0 0 (0/0)

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Sat. May 1, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. May 2, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. May 3, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. May 4, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. May 5, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Thurs. May 6, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. May 7, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. May 8, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. May 9, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. May 10, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. May 11, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Wed. May 12, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Thurs. May 13, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Fri. May 14, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. May 15, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. May 16, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. May 17, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. May 18, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. May 19, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. May 20, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. May 21, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. May 22, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. May 23, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. May 24, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. May 25, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. May 26, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. May 27, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Fri. May 28, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. May 29, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. May 30, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. May 31, 2021 0 0 (0/0)

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Tues. June 1, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. June 2, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. June 3, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. June 4, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. June 5, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. June 6, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. June 7, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. June 8, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. June 9, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. June 10, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. June 11, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. June 12, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. June 13, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. June 14, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. June 15, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. June 16, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. June 17, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. June 18, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. June 19, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. June 20, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. June 21, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. June 22, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. June 23, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. June 24, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. June 25, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. June 26, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. June 27, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. June 28, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. June 29, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. June 30, 2021 0 0 (0/0)

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Thurs. July 1, 2021 0 1 (0/1)
Fri. July 2, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. July 3, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. July 4, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. July 5, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. July 6, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. July 7, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. July 8, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. July 9, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. July 10, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. July 11, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. July 12, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. July 13, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. July 14, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. July 15, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. July 16, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. July 17, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. July 18, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. July 19, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. July 20, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. July 21, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. July 22, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. July 23, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. July 24, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. July 25, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. July 26, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. July 27, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. July 28, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. July 29, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. July 30, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. July 31, 2021 1 0 (0/0)

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Sun. August 1, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. August 2, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. August 3, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. August 4, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. August 5, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. August 6, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. August 7, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. August 8, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. August 9, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. August 10, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. August 11, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Thurs. August 12, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. August 13, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. August 14, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Sun. August 15, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. August 16, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. August 17, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Wed. August 18, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. August 19, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. August 20, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. August 21, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. August 22, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. August 23, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. August 24, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Wed. August 25, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. August 26, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. August 27, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. August 28, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. August 29, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. August 30, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. August 31, 2021 0 3 (1/2)

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Date Faculty/Staff Positives Student Positives
(Residents/Commuters)
Wed. September 1, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. September 2, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. September 3, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. September 4, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. September 5, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. September 6, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. September 7, 2021 0 4 (1/3)
Wed. September 8, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Thurs. September 9, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Fri. September 10, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. September 11, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sun. September 12, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Mon. September 13, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Tues. September 14, 2021 0 2 (0/2)
Wed. September 15, 2021 1 0 (0/0)
Thurs. September 16, 2021 1 1 (0/1)
Fri. September 17, 2021 0 0 (0/0)
Sat. September 18, 2021    
Sun. September 19, 2021    
Mon. September 20, 2021    
Tues. September 21, 2021    
Wed. September 22, 2021    
Thurs. September 23, 2021    
Fri. September 24, 2021    
Sat. September 25, 2021    
Sun. September 26, 2021    
Mon. September 27, 2021    
Tues. September 28, 2021    
Wed. September 29, 2021    
Thurs. September 30, 2021    
Fri. September 31, 2021    

Note: Beginning on February 15, 2021, we will report both daily cases and weekly totals. This table is also based on data from cases self-reported by the NJCU community and the results of testing through our partnership with Diligent Urgent Care.

Surveillance Testing

NJCU is utilizing a targeted testing approach based on the risk of transmission of COVID-19 within the university community to identify those who may have COVID but are a-symptomatic. This method is known as surveillance testing.  Each week, we encourage you to sign up for an on-campus appointment.


CDC Definitions of Frequently Confused Terms

Quarantine:

Keeps someone who might have been exposed to the virus away from others.

Who needs to Quarantine? People who have been in close contact with someone who has COVID-19.

Why? Quarantine helps prevent the spread of disease that can occur before a person knows they are sick or if they are infected with the virus without feeling symptoms. People in Quarantine should stay home, separate themselves from others, monitor their health, and follow directions from their state or local health department.

How long do I Have to Quarantine? 14 days from the last day of exposure.

Isolation:

Keeps someone who is infected with the virus away from others, even in their home. You should isolate if you have COVID-19, whether or not you have symptoms.

How long do I Have to isolate myself? 10 days from the test's date or from the first day of feeling COVID Symptoms.

 

CDC Explanation Video

Close Contact:

Someone is considered a close contact if:

  • You were within six (6) feet of someone who has COVID-19 for a total of 10-15 minutes or more
  • You provided care at home to someone who is sick with COVID-19
  • You had direct physical contact with the person (hugged or kissed them)
  • You shared eating or drinking utensils
  • They sneezed, coughed, or somehow got respiratory droplets on you
The Pandemic is not over