History

Additional Navigation

History

Getting Connected

HISTORY 

NJCU’s History Department prepares students to become critical thinkers, strong communicators and informed citizens who add significant value to their workplaces and communities. Our graduates go on to develop careers in teaching, journalism, law, public relations, advertising, business, international relations, politics, library science, criminal justice, public history, consulting and more—just a sampling of what is possible.

Are you a good candidate for becoming a history major? Ask yourself this: Do I crave a deeper understanding of the world I live in? Am I curious about how the past informs the present and the future? Do I want to learn in an environment that sparks thought-provoking discussions?  Contact us today to learn how a history degree can help you reach your personal and career goals.

Our faculty is student-centered and passionate about bringing history to life. Their specialties are as diverse as our student body, and they are sought-after experts in the discipline. They are dedicated to helping students learn, grow and succeed.

We offer coursework that aligns with a broad range of interests. Students can gain a solid foundation in American history and even New Jersey history, as well as a global view through African, Asian, Middle Eastern, Eastern and Western European, Caribbean, and Latin American history. We also offer coursework in topics like sports, elections, cities, punishment, the military and more.

 

DEGREE MAP

Click the button below for suggested courses to follow and complete, term-by-term, to make it easier to understand how to graduate in four years within your major. Degree Maps are used to assist you and your advisor with planning your academic path to graduation. Use this guide to discuss your academic plan and course selections with your advisor.

It is important to note that each student's specific program of study could, and likely will, look different. At NJCU, our goal is to customize the Degree Map to fit your situation. Consult with your advisor for the path that is best for you. 

BA in History

CONTACT

Rosemary Fox Thurston, Chair

Kartnoutsos Arts & Sciences Hall, Room 505

Email: rthurston2@njcu.edu

Tel: 201- 200-2166

 

Patricia Catrillo, Administrative Assistant

Kartnoutsos Arts & Sciences Hall, Room 505

Email: pcatrillo@njcu.edu

Tel: 201- 200-3251
 

FACULTY

Rosemary Fox Thurston, Associate Professor, Chair
Email: rthurston2@njcu.edu

Jason D. Martinek, Associate Professor
Email: jmartinek@njcu.edu

Timothy White, Associate Professor
Email: twhite1@njcu.edu

John Bragg, Associate Professor
Email: jbragg@njcu.edu

Jacob Zumoff, Assistant Professor
Email: jzumoff@njcu.edu

Bruce Chadwick, Professor
Email: bchadwick@njcu.edu

ADJUNCT FACULTY

George Benton
Email: gbenton@njcu.edu

Vincent D’Onofrio
Email: vdonofrio@njcu.edu

Arika Easley 
Email: arikaeasley@gmail.com

Robert Loboda
Email: rloboda@njcu.edu

Girard Malloy
Email: gmalloy@njcu.edu

Nina McCune
Email: gogolosuperhero@hotmail.com

Top