Pre-College Programs

Photo of Pre-College Programs

The GEAR UP College Bound program provides academic support and college preparation activities to middle school and high school students, the majority whom are from low-income families and will be the first in their families to graduate from college. These programs guide students on the path to a college or university and provide tools for academic success.

GEAR UP is funded by the United States Department of Education through a partnership with the State of New Jersey—Office of the Secretary of Higher Education—GEAR UP and New Jersey City University. Download Fact Sheet.

College Bound is funded by the State of New Jersey—Office of the Secretary of Higher Education—GEAR UP and New Jersey City University.

About the Programs

The Office of Pre-College Programs is composed of two grant funded programs; GEAR UP & College Bound. GEAR UP is an acronym for Gaining Early Awareness & Readiness for Undergraduate Programs. New Jersey's GEAR UP project at New Jersey City University (NJCU) targets eight Jersey City public schools: PS # 23, P.S. # 24, P.S. # 38, M.S. # 40, Martin Center for the Arts, Henry Snyder H.S, Lincoln H.S. & University Academy Charter High School.

What Does the Program Provide?

We offer a six week summer program consisting of the following:

  • Academic Classes
  • Individual & Group Academic Advising
  • Conflict Resolution Classes
  • Mentoring
  • Cultural & Educational Field Trips
  • Parent Workshops
  • Recreational Activities
  • Performing Arts
  • Standardized Test Preparation
  • Foreign Languages

Saturday classes during the academic year consisting of the following:

  • Academic Classes
  • Computer Literacy Classes
  • Conflict Resolution
  • After School Tutorial Program
  • Mentor Program
  • Parent Workshops
  • Individual & Group Academic Advising
  • Field Trips
  • Recreational Activities
  • Standardized Test Preparation
  • College Tours

Who Can Participate?

Students must meet the following criteria:

  • Attend one of the targeted Jersey City Public Schools. The "Target Schools" we recruit from are PS #14, #15, #23, PS #24, PS #37, #38, M.S. #40, Martin Center for the Arts, Henry Snyder H.S., Abraham Lincoln H.S. & University Academy Charter H.S.

  • Have a GPA of at least 2.5 (C+) or better.

  • Interested in attending college.

  • Potential 1st generation college student.

Contact Us

Location: Vodra Hall, Room 203
Phone: (201)200-2347
Fax: (201)200-2348

Valerie Boseman (vboseman@njcu.edu),
Director of the Office Pre-College Programs

Robert Friday (rfriday@njcu.edu),
College Bound Counselor Coordinator

Jessica Irizarry (jirizarry@njcu.edu)
GEAR UP Counselor Coordinator

Manny Vazquez (mvazquez@njcu.edu),
GEAR UP Counselor Coordinator

Deja Neal (dneal1@njcu.edu),
Program Assistant

Cassandra Gaston (cgaston@njcu.edu),
Program Assistant

Tiana Sweeney (tsweeney1@njcu.edu),
Clerk Typist