NASN Names NJCU’s Lorraine Chewey to its 2018 National Academy of School Nursing Fellows

October 12, 2018
Lorraine Chewey

Most prestigious recognition that members can receive from the NASN Silver Spring, Maryland

The National Association of School Nurses (NASN) recently named four professionals for induction into the National Academy of School Nursing. They are Lorraine Chewey, New Jersey; Carolyn Duff, South Carolina; Cynthia Hiltz, Minnesota; and Elizabeth Mattey, Delaware.  NJCU's Lorraine Chewey, EdD, RN, FNASN, is Faculty & Coordinator, School Nurse Certification Program.

The honor of Fellow is the most prestigious recognition that members can receive from NASN. It is a symbol of superior achievement in school nursing and exceptional contributions to NASN. The depth and breadth of the Fellow’s imprint on the field is extraordinary. Their contributions have had significant and enduring impact not only to the professional association but to the broader genre of school health and student well-being, and their exemplary leadership qualities and achievements are recognized by many, both inside and outside of school nursing and educational spheres of influence.

Examples include the following:

• Developing programs to prepare professional nurses in the specialty of school nursing,

• Mentoring nurses in school nursing research projects, and

• Impacting the standards of school nursing practice through scholarly efforts related to evidence-based practice and the identification of best practices.

The National Academy of School Nursing Fellows was founded in 1997 and has inducted 95 school nursing fellows.

The National Association of School Nurses is a non-profit specialty nursing organization, organized in 1968 and incorporated in 1977, representing school nurses exclusively. NASN has more than 16,000 members and 50 affiliates including the District of Columbia and overseas. The mission of NASN is to optimize student health and learning by advancing the practice of school nursing.


Tagged as: