Contact the Undergraduate Admissions Team

Photo of Aerial view of campus

Contact the Undergraduate Admissions Team

A message from the Assistant Vice President of Admissions & Enrollment Management:

Jose Balda headshot
Jose Balda, Assistant Vice President of Admissions & Enrollment Management, New Jersey City University

Welcome, and thank you for considering New Jersey City University in your college search.

Earning a college degree requires personal sacrifice with the realization that the results will transform your future for yourself and for your family. Our office is here to support your exploration of the countless opportunities available to you at NJCU.

I would personally like to invite you to engage with us. To make sure you can get all of your questions answered, we have appointed an Admissions Counselor for your area. I encourage you to reach out and introduce yourself, so we can support you through this exciting and important time in your life. You can also schedule a campus visit  to explore our campus and learn more about NJCU in person.

As an NJCU alum, I know exactly how transformative an NJCU education can be. I look forward to meeting you and showing you how NJCU can help you become your best.

Go Knights!

Meet the Undergraduate Admissions Team

Our Admissions Team is dedicated to your success. If you have questions on the application process or next steps, please feel free to reach out for assistance. 

STACEY KANGA HEADSHOT

Stacey Kanga

Director, First Year Admissions and Operations
Contact Info: 201-200-3234; skanga@njcu.edu
 

JORGE FERNANDEZ HEADSHOT

Jorge Fernandez

Associate Director, Transfer Admissions
Contact Info: 201-200-3226; jfernandez13@njcu.edu
Territory: Transfer Admissions
Languages Spoken: English and Spanish


SONYA BROWN HEADSHOT

Sonya Brown

Admissions Operations
Contact Info:  201-200-3234; sbrown@njcu.edu  
 

MADELINE FERMIN HEADSHOT

Madeline Fermin

Transfer Success Coach
Contact Info: 201-200-2255; mfermin1@njcu.edu
Territory: Hudson County Community College
Languages Spoken: English and Spanish

KELLY FRANCISCO HEADSHOT

Kelly Francisco

Admissions Counselor/Coordinator of Campus Tours & Admissions Ambassador
Contact Info: 201-200-2137; kfrancisco@njcu.edu 
Territories: Union, Bergen, Essex, Morris, Northern Passaic, Sussex, Warren, & Hunterdon Counties
Specialties: Coordinator of Campus Tours & Admissions Ambassador Program
Languages Spoken: English and Spanish
 

RAF GAJILLAN HEADSHOT

Rafael F. Gajilan

Admissions Operations
Contact Info: 201-200-3234; rgajilan@njcu.edu
 

HUYEN LE HEADSHOT

Huyen Le (she/her)

Admissions Counselor, Scholarship Coordinator
Contact Info: 201-200-3379; hle2@njcu.edu
Specialties: Re-admit, International Freshmen & Transfer Admissions Counselor
Languages Spoken: English and Vietnamese
 

MAXINE PERKINS HEADSHOT

Maxine Perkins

Admissions Operations
Contact Info: 201-200-3234; mperkins@njcu.edu

michele rhodes headshot

Michele Rhodes

Admissions Operations
Contact Info:  201-200-3234; admissions@njcu.edu  
 

DOMINIQUE SMITH HEADSHOT

Dominique Smith

Director of New Student Programs
Contact Info: 201-200-2518; Dsmith7@njcu.edu

CARLOS TEJEDA HEADSHOT

Carlos Tejeda

Admissions Counselor & Athletics Liaison
Contact Info:  201-200-3580; ctejedaurena@njcu.edu 
Specialties/Territories: Somerset, Camden, Mercer, Monmouth, Ocean, Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, Salem, Gloucester, Middlesex Counties; Athletic Liaison
Languages Spoken: English and Spanish