Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Photo of Flowers on the grounds of NJCU with buildings in the background.

MSCHE 2020 Self-Study

The Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) accredits institutions of higher education in New Jersey, as well as Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Accredited institutions are those that demonstrate compliance with a set of standards articulated by regional accrediting associations. Accreditation is voluntary, but is required for an institution’s students to be eligible to receive financial aid.

The Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) accredits institutions in New Jersey. The MSCHE Standards are related to:

  • Mission and Goals
  • Ethics and Integrity
  • Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience
  • Support of the Student Experience
  • Educational Effectiveness
  • Assessment Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement
  • Governance, Leadership and Administration

Accreditation is affirmed and maintained through self-assessment and peer review. The accreditation cycle is eight years and includes: Self-Study, Annual Updates, and Mid-Point Review.

  • The Self-Study preparation is an intensive process that culminates in a visit from MSCHE reviewers. NJCU’s visit will be in the Spring of 2020. NJCU’s goals for the Self-Study include:
  • Engaging the University community in an inclusive and transparent process of reflection, assessment, and evaluation.
  • Demonstrating compliance with the MSCHE Standards for Accreditation and Requirements of Affiliation.
  • Reviewing current approaches to continuous improvement and establishing a framework for enhancing practices.
  • Establishing a set of suggestions/recommendations to serve as a foundation for informing the University’s planning processes.

See the process timeline. We encourage you to check this page for information and progress updates. You can also email msche2020@njcu.edu with questions.



MSCHE 2020 Team

* Denotes Working Group leaders

  • Bailey, Jodi*, Interim Associate Vice President, Student Affairs
  • De Fina, Allan*, Professor, Literacy Education
  • Dilks, Kathy, Alumna
  • Garcia, Venessa, Assistant Professor, Criminal Justice
  • Matos, Tracy, Gothic Card Coordinator, Procurement
  • Montgomery, Bill, Professor, Earth and Env Science
  • Scardaville, Debra, Professor, Nursing
  • Smith, Fred, Director, Library
  • Teclezghi, Beimnet, Professor, Mathematics
  • Rosen, Michelle*, Assistant Professor, Literacy Education
  • Bendaoud, Meriem, Assistant Professor, Biology
  • Gibson, Queen, Advisor/Transfer Specialist, SoB Dean
  • Mayell, Rick, Assistant Professor, Finance
  • Melendez, Virginia, Executive Coordinator to President, President
  • O’Connor, Scott, Assistant Professor, Philosophy
  • Reyes, Tatiana, Professional Services Specialist, COE Dean
  • Stieglitz, Matthew, Labor Relations Associate & Interim Assistant University Counsel, Legal
  • Aydin, Nurdan*, Interim Assistant Provost, Provost
  • Lee, EunSu*, Assistant Professor, Management
  • Fausty, Josh, Professor, English
  • Fisher, Scott, Assistant Professor, Security Studies
  • Gharabegian, Alina, Associate Professor, English
  • Mokashi, Amit, Assistant Professor, Management
  • Nicholson, Doris, Alumna
  • Sutton, Matt, Tutoring Coordinator, OSP
  • Melendez, John, Professor, Educational Leadership
  • Rohdin, Ben, Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management
  • Aska, Aaron, Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, Administration
  • Abdalla, Sherifa, Program Assistant, Provost
  • Blicharz, John, Director, Hub
  • Feliziano, Sheyla, Freshman Class President (2018)
  • Gallagher-Hobson, Abisola, Director, Counseling and Wellness
  • John, Mince, Director, Mathematics
  • Lin, Dennis (Yung-Wei), Assistant Professor, Counseling
  • Magliulo, Sabrina, Associate Director, OSP
  • Scanniello, Anna, Administrative Assistant, Fire Science
  • Tyler, Camille, Alumna
  • Branchizio, Denise, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Swider, Cheryl, Assessment, Institutional Effectiveness
  • Agaskar, Vai, Assistant Professor, Counseling
  • Alvarez, Janice, Alumna
  • Casais, Isabel, Executive Assistant, SoB Dean
  • Ortiz, Ruth, Assessment/ Accreditation Specialist, SoB Dean
  • Rivera, Chantell, Assistant Director, Residence Life
  • Ruggiero, Jeanne, Associate Professor, Nursing
  • Schieffler, Danny, Assistant Professor, Health Sciences
  • Brunetto, Jeff*, Director, Bursar
  • Grew, John*, Professor, Biology
  • Andha, Arisha, Student, SGO
  • Kim, Bumjung, Assistant Professor, Chemistry
  • McClary, Debra, Assistant to the Dean, SoB Dean
  • Morales, Luis, Budget Office & Risk Manager, Finance
  • Nash, Denise, Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Rutledge, Wanda, Associate Professor, Management
  • Serpico, Denise, Professional Services Specialist, Wall
  • Svarnas, Kostas, Director, Facilities
  • Tavares, Rosemary, Interim Controller, Finance
  • Wang, Zhimin, Associate Professor, Finance
  • White, William, Human Resources, Human Resources
  • De Veyga, Guillermo*, Chief of Staff, President
  • Moskowitz, Joe*, Professor, Political Science
  • Carroll, Reed, Associate Professor, Biology
  • Castillo-Bongon, Helen, Program Assistant, Mathematics
  • Fortier, Mary, Associate Professor, Nursing
  • Haouari, Hanae, Assistant Professor, Chemistry
  • Kroll, Jason, Vice President & Chief Strategy Officer, Advancement
  • Pelissier, Farah, Counselor, OSP
  • Piscopo, Donna, Administrative Assistant, Senate
  • Shamburg, Chris, Senate President, Professor, Senate, Educational Technology
  • Amerman, Tracy, Professor, Educational Technology
  • Gerber, Sue, Associate Vice President, Institutional Effectiveness
  • Moran, Fran, Professor, Political Science