University Budget Task Force

About the Budget Review Task Force

President Henderson formed the Budget Review Task Force in 2016 as a forum for open discussion on the current budget process, the sources of revenue, current expenses, and recommendations for future enhancements to the current budget process. The current Chief Financial Officer (CFO) Jim White has reconstituted the Task Force to lead the President’s efforts with the focus of building and sustaining a balanced multi-year budget.


The University Budget Task Force (UBTF) was developed to:

  • Provide a working understanding of the University’s resources as a whole;
  • Promote transparency of the budget allocation processes in place; and
  • Create collegial discourse across the University community in order to fulfill its mission and strategic initiatives.

(*Note: Dates subject to change)

The UBTF will meet on the following dates this fall:

  • Friday, November 19th 4pm in GSUB, Meeting Room 217 (Kickoff Meeting with President Henderson)
  • Tuesday, December 19th @3pm in Hepburn Hall, Gothic Lounge H202
  • January meeting - TBD


Taskforce Leadership

Name Title
Jim White, Task Force Chair VP Finance/ CFO
Luis Morales Budget Officer/ Risk Manager
Maria Espino Executive Assistant and Project Manager

President's Cabinet

Name Title
Will De Veyga Chief of Staff
Sue Gerber AVP Institutional Effectiveness
Virginia Melendez Executive Coordinator to the President and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Divisional Representatives

Name Title Division
Bernie McSherry  Dean School of Business Dean Representative
Tamara Jhashi Provost and Senior Vice President Academic Affairs
Rosemary Tavares AVP/Controller Finance & Treasury
Paul Sunda AVP Business Operations Operations & Innovation
Kwi Brennan Executive Director NJCU Foundation University Advancement
Ben Rohdin AVP Enrollment Management Student Affairs & Enrollment Management

Faculty Representatives

Name Title Department
 John Grew Faculty, CAS Biology
John Melendez Faculty, COE Educational Leadership
David Chiabi Faculty, CPS Criminal Justice
Richard Mayell Faculty, SOB Business

Senate Representatives

Name Title Division
 Chris Shamburg Senate President Chair COE
Rubina Vohra Senate Vice President SOB
Cynthia Vazquez Senate Secretary PS CTPP

Association Representatives

Name Title Association
 Andrew Glogovsky Professional Services Specialist-Computer Services Clerical/technical/maintenance staff (CWA/IFPTE)
Ayannah Johnson Academic Advisor Professional staff (AFT)
Ira Thor Assistant Athletics Director of Strategic Communications & Marketing Professional staff (AFT)

Student Government Representatives

Name Title
Ricky Cruz SGO President
Sunky Chang SGO Executive Vice President
Marcus Daniels SGO VP for Administration & Finance