University Advisement Center

Photo of student being advised

University Advisement Center

Welcome to the University Advisement Center

The University Advisement Center seeks to enhance the experience and academic success of NJCU's undergraduate students. UAC's Academic Advisors are dedicated to helping students reach their highest potential, providing awareness of resources and supporting academic success.

Hablamos Español

... and many other languages, too!

Just use our translation tool in the upper right-hand corner to find yours

Why Would I Talk to an Academic Advisor?

Walk in Advisement

Walk-in hours are available for quick advising sessions and are intended for brief guidance on matters such as:

  • Referrals to resources and offices for further assistance and exploration
  • Concerns regarding academic policies and procedures
  • General Education class add/drop 
  • Discussing a pass/fail option
  • Discussing class withdrawals
  • Change part time/full time status
  • Declaring a major/minor 

Virtual Walk Ins

Monday – Thursday: 10:00 am - 12:00 pm and 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Sign up using our online registration form to attend a virtual walk in session right away:

Virtual Walk-In Sessions


Advisement Appointment

  • Ask for advice on course registration and academic planning
  • To solve complex registration issues
  • Discuss degree requirements, including NJCU Core, Majors, and Minors
  • Clarification on baccalaureate and general education requirements
  • Change in major/minor 
  • Major exploration
  • Plan a reasonable and timely graduation
  • Post-grad planning

Academic Advisors

Your academic advisor is your guide to success at NJCU. Academic Advisors are assigned to assist new, undeclared, transfer, and veteran students. You will be able to find your assigned advisor by your program of study below.

Walk-ins are always welcome. Appointments are strongly encouraged.

Lorena Laverde

Interim Director of Advisement
Early Childhood, Elementary and Secondary Education
llaverde@njcu.edu
Virtual Phone Number: 201-471-6091
Virtual Call Extension: 132
Office Number: 201-200-3215
Vodra 101

RoseMarie DiStefano
Accounting, Economics, Finance, Marketing, Management, Global Business, Supply Chain
For Students with Last Name A-J
UAC: Vodra 101
Virtual Phone Number: 201-471-6091
Virtual Call Extension: 138
Office Number: 201-200-2191
rdistefano@njcu.edu

Crystal Villavert
Accounting, Economics, Finance, Marketing, Management, Global Business, Supply Chain
For Students with Last Name K-S
UAC: Vodra 101
Virtual Phone Number: 201-471-6091
Virtual Call Extension: 136
Office Number: 201-200-3382
carreola@njcu.edu

Queen Gibson
Accounting, Economics, Finance, Marketing, Management, Global Business, Supply Chain
For Students with Last Name Sp-Z
School of Business at Harborside campus
Google Number: 908-376-9802
Office Number: 201-200-3011
qgibson@njcu.edu

Courtney Chambers
Visual Arts
Visual Arts Building: A-120
Google Number: 201-200-3214
Office Number: 201-200-3214
cchambers@njcu.edu

Sandy Checo
Music and Media Arts
UAC: Vodra 101
Office number: 201-200-2279
scheco@njcu.edu

Kathleen Banks 
English, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Spanish & Women's and Gender Studies
UAC: Vodra 101
Virtual Phone Number: 201-471-6091
Virtual Call Extension: 133
Office Number: 201-200-3569
kbanks@njcu.edu

Manica Jacques
Psychology, Sociology, and Social Work
For students with Last Name G-Z
UAC: Vodra 101
Office number: 201-200-2104
mjacques@njcu.edu

Daysi Romero
Psychology, Sociology, and Social Work
For students with Last Name A-F
UAC: Vodra 101
Virtual Phone Number: 201-471-6091
Virtual Call Extension: 139
Office Number: 201-200-2184
dromero@njcu.edu

Vivianne Jimenez
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Earth and Environmental Science, Computer Science, Mathematics (STEM)
For Students with Last Name A-F
UAC: Vodra 101
Google Number: 551-227-7494
Office Number: 201- 200-2373
vjimenez@njcu.edu

Paola Martinez
Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Earth and Environmental Science, Computer Science, Mathematics (STEM)
For Students with Last Name N-Z
UAC: Vodra 101
Virtual Phone Number: 201-471-6091
Virtual Call Extension: 104
Pmartinez4@njcu.edu

Lakeesha Conyers 
Criminal Justice: 0-74 credits
Health Science: 0-60 Credits
UAC:Vodra 101
Virtual Phone Number: 201-471-6091
Virtual Call Extension: 140
Office Phone: 201-200-2023
lconyers1@njcu.edu

Mohamed Kaifa
Criminal Justice: 75+ credits
Education and Professional Studies Building: Suite 220
(201) 200-2416
mkaifa@njcu.edu

Anna Scanniello
Fire Science
Education and Professional Studies Building: P-441
(201)-200-3370
ascanniell@njcu.edu

Syed Haider
Program Coordinator
National and Professional Security Studies
Education and Professional Studies Building:P-453
(201) 200-2386
shaider1@njcu.edu

Dr. Scott Fisher
National and Professional Security Studies
Education and Professional Studies Building: P-449
(201) 200-2275
sfisher1@njcu.edu

Please print out the document below to prepare for your next advisement meeting

Advisee Syllabus

Location

Vodra Hall, Room 101
Monday – Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
201-200-3300 or 201-200-3422
uac@njcu.edu